538 model & poll tracker thread (user search)
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 27, 2024, 01:46:42 PM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  Election Archive
  Election Archive
  2020 U.S. Presidential Election (Moderators: Likely Voter, YE)
  538 model & poll tracker thread (search mode)
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: 538 model & poll tracker thread  (Read 57629 times)
Landslide Lyndon
px75
Atlas Star
Greece

« on: June 18, 2020, 01:35:43 AM »

I’ve been predicting the NPV would be Biden +9 for three months now!

So the tipping point is 2.3 points to the right of the nation, compared with 2.9 points I believe in 2016.

Interesting that they project Biden to win CA by less than Hillary won it

Polls showed Newsom winning by 10 points or less. Democrats are always badly underestimated there.
Landslide Lyndon
px75
Atlas Star
Greece

« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2020, 03:58:10 PM »

Oh yes.
I forgot there was a grade slider (top-left corner area), to weed-out the lower-graded pollsters.
Nice. Thank you for this image.
Smiley

I used it a week ago and found that out of all the polls released since the beginning of June by A+ pollsters only one or two didn't show a double digit Biden lead.
Landslide Lyndon
px75
Atlas Star
Greece

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2020, 01:17:30 AM »

Silver had the monopoly on this kind of electoral forecasting and of course he is annoyed now that a newcomer not only is competing for a piece of the pie but also challenges him directly about the flaws of his model.
Landslide Lyndon
px75
Atlas Star
Greece

« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2020, 04:12:27 AM »

I was astonished to learn that Silver's model doesn't take into account Trump's approval rating.
This is literally the most salient number in every contest where an incumbent ran for reelection.
Landslide Lyndon
px75
Atlas Star
Greece