Argue the opposite of your actual views - abortion edition
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 28, 2024, 12:27:16 PM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  General Politics
  Political Debate (Moderator: Torie)
  Argue the opposite of your actual views - abortion edition
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Argue the opposite of your actual views - abortion edition  (Read 1119 times)
Waterfall
Rookie
United States
Show only this user's posts in this thread
« on: January 22, 2017, 08:27:49 PM »

Convincingly arguing for a view you oppose can be a way to demonstrate how well you understand the other side's arguments, and therefore is a good suggestion of how credible your own arguments are. I've never done this before but have always wanted to try, so why not right here right now? Hopefully this thread will inspire other people to start similar threads on different political issues.

One more thing...I cannot guarantee that any of my factual claims below are absolutely true, only that they are true to the best of my current knowledge. Or I might be bluffing.

OK, here I go:

~~~

Aborting a pregnancy should be a legal and socially permissible option. Here's why.

1) We know that many women will seek abortions regardless whether they are legal. Even if we suppose that a fetus is a human life with rights, illegal abortions are much more likely to result in severe health risks to the mother, so if we really value life we should take the practical approach and minimize the amount of death by at least allowing women to have their abortions in a safe and above-board way, carried out by licensed physicians with no fear of legal repercussions. Besides, there are fewer abortions in places where abortion is legal.