2016: Rise of the Grassroots
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 29, 2024, 04:19:38 AM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  Presidential Elections - Analysis and Discussion
  Election What-ifs? (Moderator: Dereich)
  2016: Rise of the Grassroots
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: 2016: Rise of the Grassroots  (Read 6192 times)
PPT Spiral
Spiral
Atlas Politician
YaBB God
Bosnia and Herzegovina

Show only this user's posts in this thread
« on: February 21, 2013, 01:24:21 AM »

This is my first time trying one of these things. If there's enough positive reception for this, I'll try to continue it out to the end of the election.

The year is 2015. Inching nearer to the end of Barack Obama's presidency, and with another intense election cycle on the way, all attention is pointed towards who the successor to Obama in the Oval Office shall be. The economy of the nation has continued to flounder up to this point, with unemployment numbers still stubbornly high and the prices of goods gradually rising, leaving Obama with mediocre approval ratings and an incredibly polarized public. For both of the major political parties, inner tensions have been given a good amount of media exposure. A vocal section of Democratic activists frustrated with Obama's policies on foreign affairs and civil liberties are clamoring for a candidate who would represent a stark reversal away from this course. Meanwhile, the Republican Party is fighting a civil war within itself between establishment figures and reformers seeking to integrate more libertarian elements into the platform.