Anyone here old enough to remember the 1984 presidential election? (user search)
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 28, 2024, 11:12:47 AM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  Presidential Elections - Analysis and Discussion
  U.S. Presidential Election Results (Moderator: Dereich)
  Anyone here old enough to remember the 1984 presidential election? (search mode)
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Anyone here old enough to remember the 1984 presidential election?  (Read 6680 times)
SingingAnalyst
mathstatman
YaBB God
United States

« on: May 05, 2015, 10:28:10 PM »

Yes. Though I am from Macomb, MI (capital of the Reagan Dems where Reagan would win 66.2%, the best showing in Macomb for a Republican since the 1920s), I was a student in Cambridge, MA, which would vote 76.2% Mondale, the 3rd highest percentage in Cambridge for a Dem ever. I remember the vibe among my new compatriates that we were on the verge of nuclear war if Reagan were re-elected, and that it was almost inhuman not to vote Mondale. In the end I voted Reagan, but could easily have gone the other way (I did however vote Dem for Senate, thus splitting my ticket). I recall being surprised at the size of Reagan's win, not surprising considering where I was living at the time.
SingingAnalyst
mathstatman
YaBB God
United States

« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2015, 02:32:48 PM »