What the 2003 elections (Ca. Miss. Ky. & La) mean for 2004

(1/5) > >>

Ryan:
Well its over, the four big elections of the year are done and its a GOP advantage 3 to 1.

How will it affect the race for the White House in 2004?? I'm sure there are as many opinions as members here so let start hearing em.......... :D

Filuwaúrdjan:
Basically it confirms that a "multiple south" exists and that CA is not as Democrat as some Democrats(and Republicans for that matter) would like to belive.

Inmate Trump:
I'm not sure these elections have as much impact on 2004 as some people say.  A lot can change between now and then.  Who knows though; not me.  I'm not a political scientist or anything, so I could be totally wrong.  I do think it confirms that Bush will win most, if not all, of the south.

But if they *are* any indication of how 2004 will go, it's a sure good sign for Bush.  Here's hoping Arnold can fix all of California's problems and be a huge improvement from Gray Davis--by Nov. 2004--so that he can possibly be able to deliver California's 55 electoral votes for Bush next year?  Stranger things have happened...

Ryan:
My take is that the results confirm that the nation is still close to being as evenly divided between the parties as 2000 (with perhaps a slight GOP improvement.)

Do the gubernatorial victories make up a good predictor of Presidential elections? Of course not!! State elections are primarily decided on state issues.

To decide upon indicators to the Presidential race, we need to look at how the White House and mention of the White House influenced trends.

In Kentucky and Mississippi, GWB campaigned for his party nominees and they moved up in the polls after each visit.

Even more useful, democratic strategy of tying GOP candidates to Bush failed to have the desired effect.