French Presidential Election; 2nd round thread (user search)
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 24, 2024, 03:14:30 PM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  Other Elections - Analysis and Discussion
  International Elections (Moderators: afleitch, Hash)
  French Presidential Election; 2nd round thread (search mode)
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: French Presidential Election; 2nd round thread  (Read 93914 times)
Colin
ColinW
Atlas Icon
Papua New Guinea

Political Matrix
E: 3.87, S: -6.09

« on: April 26, 2007, 07:14:53 PM »

I'm a bit of a novice in regards to French presidential politics. What areas need to come in in what percentages for each candidate to win?

Well one candidate has to get more votes than the other in the second round. In the first round the top two candidates, if no candidate has reached 50% of the vote, go onto a second round where the one who recieves the most votes wins. Not really that exotic of a system.
Colin
ColinW
Atlas Icon
Papua New Guinea

Political Matrix

« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2007, 11:38:14 AM »

I'm going to say the floor for Royal is about 44% I would be very surpised if there was anything larger than a 55-45 victory for Sarko.
Colin
ColinW
Atlas Icon
Papua New Guinea

Political Matrix

« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2007, 02:51:25 PM »

Huh? Please tell me who was third way in the second round? You could make a case that Bayrou was a "third way" candidate but Royal really was not "third way" economically.
Colin
ColinW
Atlas Icon
Papua New Guinea

Political Matrix

« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2007, 03:16:16 PM »

Huh? Please tell me who was third way in the second round? You could make a case that Bayrou was a "third way" candidate but Royal really was not "third way" economically.

True. On the whole she was noticably to the right of Blair (except in rhetoric, obviously).