Fed plans to raise rates as soon as March to cool inflation (user search)
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 26, 2024, 03:41:58 AM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  General Politics
  Economics (Moderator: Torie)
  Fed plans to raise rates as soon as March to cool inflation (search mode)
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Fed plans to raise rates as soon as March to cool inflation  (Read 19915 times)
Clarko95 📚💰📈
Clarko95
YaBB God
Sweden

Political Matrix
E: -5.61, S: -1.96

« on: September 26, 2022, 04:23:06 PM »

For the first time using my inflation-adjusted yield curve (discounting the yield curve with inflation swaps at each tenor) as the curve inverted (the convention curve has been inverted for a while) although only mildly.

Out of curiosity (I studied valuation and work in banking), why do you do it that way? And is this alternate measure widely used? Have you tested its reliability in the past?

(Hope I'm not derailing the thread here)
Clarko95 📚💰📈
Clarko95
YaBB God
Sweden

Political Matrix

« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2022, 02:23:18 PM »

Sounds like it's a great time to pass another nice big tax increase
Clarko95 📚💰📈
Clarko95
YaBB God
Sweden

Political Matrix

« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2022, 03:42:54 PM »
« Edited: October 25, 2022, 03:52:41 PM by Clarko95 📚💰📈 »

Natural gas prices are back to pre-war levels on both sides of the Atlantic:

Europe:

And the United States:

Weather forecasts are for a mild winter on both sides as well, even if there may be a cold snap in December in Europe and January in the United States. Fingers crossed that climate change may actually defeat the Russian invasion of Ukraine, in a hilarious twist on the "Don't invade Russia in winter" meme.