Election Calculator / Simulator 2.0 released (user search)
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
January 29, 2023, 06:51:31 AM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

  Talk Elections
  Forum Community
  Forum Community (Moderators: The Dowager Mod, YE, KoopaDaQuick)
  Election Calculator / Simulator 2.0 released (search mode)
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Election Calculator / Simulator 2.0 released  (Read 12250 times)
CentristRepublican
Atlas Icon
*****
Posts: 11,417
United States


« on: January 21, 2022, 02:16:15 PM »

Great work, Virginia. Thanks for all the efforts you're putting in this.
Logged
CentristRepublican
Atlas Icon
*****
Posts: 11,417
United States


« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2022, 02:21:20 PM »

Maybe this was already addressed or something, but when I go to the map and do stuff, and then click 'Show Forum Embed Code,' nothing happens - is this intentional, or am I doing something wrong?
Logged
CentristRepublican
Atlas Icon
*****
Posts: 11,417
United States


« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2022, 02:48:42 PM »

Great work, Virginia. Thanks for all the efforts you're putting in this.

A small note on something I realized: It seems that certain browser features such as a blocker for cookie banners indeed block the map from being displayed or even the forum link to be generated (that wasn't the case before). I only use the add-on "I don't care about cookies" because EU laws require all European websites to ask for allowing cookies with annoying banners popping up on almost every website. Now that I deactivated the feature for Talk Elections (not that I would need here anyway), it just works fine. So if anything, it might be more of an issue for European users.

Thanks - I installed that addon but didn't see that behavior. I'll have to keep an eye on it, though. It wouldn't be the first time ad blockers mucked things up here (they did so for the Recommend feature and the new post editor).

Maybe this was already addressed or something, but when I go to the map and do stuff, and then click 'Show Forum Embed Code,' nothing happens - is this intentional, or am I doing something wrong?

Do you see the map fine on the page?

No, it doesn't seem to be showing any map at all. Like usually there's a map above the Show Forum Imbed Code button, but it's not there anymore.

EDIT: I believe I did as you said to, but nothing's changed; it doesn't say anything, it's just if I click the button nothing at all happens.
Logged
CentristRepublican
Atlas Icon
*****
Posts: 11,417
United States


« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2022, 02:53:23 PM »

No, it doesn't seem to be showing any map at all. Like usually there's a map above the Show Forum Imbed Code button, but it's not there anymore.

Trying doing a Hard refresh on your browser. If Windows, hold Ctrl + Press F5. If Mac, follow these instructions:

Quote
Safari (Mac)

    Go to Safari > Empty Cache, or hit Opt + Cmd + E.
    To refresh, click the refresh button on the address bar or press Cmd + R.

Google Chrome

    Windows users: hold down Ctrl and then press F5 on your keyboard.
    Mac users: hold down Cmd and Shift and then press R on your keyboard.

I'm actually using a Chromebook, how do you do a hard refresh on that? (I did it once but have forgotten how to.)

Also, if this is just a problem for me and everyone else can use maps (not sure), I should be fine because I don't post maps that much anyway.
Logged
CentristRepublican
Atlas Icon
*****
Posts: 11,417
United States


« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2022, 03:00:17 PM »

I'm actually using a Chromebook, how do you do a hard refresh on that? (I did it once but have forgotten how to.)

Also, if this is just a problem for me and everyone else can use maps (not sure), I should be fine because I don't post maps that much anyway.

I think hold Ctrl then click Reload on the browser screen.

I know this fixed it for another user earlier that I was talking to on Discord. The issue in that case was the browser was still trying to use old cached files. If that's the case, alternatively, you could clear your cache for this website or hopefully it'll just automatically refresh within 24-48 hours.

It's working now, I think. Thanks!  Smile
Logged
Pages: [1]  
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Terms of Service - DMCA Agent and Policy - Privacy Policy and Cookies

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Page created in 0.056 seconds with 12 queries.