How to plot election data to a different map
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 23, 2024, 06:25:34 PM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  About this Site
  Talk Elections Q & A
  How To (Moderator: Virginiá)
  How to plot election data to a different map
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: How to plot election data to a different map  (Read 484 times)
cartoman
Show only this user's posts in this thread
« on: September 27, 2019, 10:32:37 AM »

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to election mapping and have been reading up on the redistricting in NC. Once the maps are finalized, I'd like to do an analysis of past elections using these maps. however, I've never done an election analysis with changing boundaries before. Would you guys know of any good tutorials or walkthroughs of how to do this? I googled this question multiple times but was not able to find anything good.

My assumption is that I would have to get the precinct data and then aggregate them up to the new lines? I assume that precincts can't cross state legislative lines, but don't know if that is accurate. If any of you guys have advice or know a tutorial I could use, that would be great!

I primarily use ArcMap, but am familiar with regular ArcGIS, and MapViewer. I'm also willing to look at other programs if necessary.
RI
realisticidealist
Atlas Icon

Political Matrix
E: 0.39, S: 2.61

« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2019, 01:04:12 PM »

My assumption is that I would have to get the precinct data and then aggregate them up to the new lines? I assume that precincts can't cross state legislative lines, but don't know if that is accurate. If any of you guys have advice or know a tutorial I could use, that would be great!