Carlton County, Minnesota
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 24, 2024, 08:54:26 AM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  Presidential Elections - Analysis and Discussion
  Presidential Election Trends (Moderator: 100% pro-life no matter what)
  Carlton County, Minnesota
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Carlton County, Minnesota  (Read 2956 times)
Alcon
Atlas Superstar
United States

Show only this user's posts in this thread
« on: September 25, 2005, 11:59:34 PM »

Why did Kerry win every single township in this county?

It's pretty heavily white, pretty middle class, and both the white and Native American areas voted Kerry.
Cubby
Pim Fortuyn
Junior Chimp
Israel

Political Matrix
E: -3.74, S: -6.96

« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2005, 12:53:48 AM »

I'm not an expert on the area, but the county is near the Mesabi Iron Range, where there is a lot of unionism and mining. BRTD said in another post that in this part of MN, many voters would never vote Republican. But its important to note that this voting continues to be based on economics, which is losing ground to "values" crap when deciding elections these days. Northeast Minnesota as a whole seems to be the most left-wing part of the state, even more so than Hennepin County.
Alcon
Atlas Superstar
United States

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2005, 01:01:09 AM »

It has a $40,000+ median household income, which seems odd for a very economically liberal area.
I spent the winter writing songs about getting better
BRTD
Atlas Prophet
Ukraine

Political Matrix
E: -6.50, S: -6.67

P P
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2005, 01:09:08 AM »
« Edited: September 26, 2005, 01:11:39 AM by Unidad Revolucionaria Nacional Guatemalteca »

What is said above is basically correct. It is a big mining area and very unionist.