Opinion of Sigmund Freud
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 29, 2024, 01:22:21 PM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  General Discussion
  Religion & Philosophy (Moderator: Okay, maybe Mike Johnson is a competent parliamentarian.)
  Opinion of Sigmund Freud
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Poll
Question: ?
FF

HP

Show Pie Chart
Partisan results

Total Voters: 22

Author Topic: Opinion of Sigmund Freud  (Read 3076 times)
Miles
MilesC56
Atlas Icon
United States

Show only this user's posts in this thread
« on: September 09, 2013, 01:37:24 PM »

I'm just curious. I'm studying some of his stuff in my anthropology of religion class.
Antonio the Sixth
Antonio V
Atlas Institution
United States

Political Matrix
E: -7.87, S: -3.83

P P
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2013, 11:16:07 AM »

He certainly had his flaws, but his contributions to humanity's knowledge are invaluable. I've always found the trichotomy of ego, id and superego extremely useful to the comprehension of human history and political processes.
Filuwaúrdjan
Realpolitik
Atlas Institution
United Kingdom

« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2013, 11:38:14 AM »

Leszek Kołakowski once described him as Sigmund Fraud. I'm apt to agree.

For Lucian Freud, on the other hand, there are no words of praise too effusive.
Tetro Kornbluth
Gully Foyle
Atlas Icon
Ireland, Republic of

« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2013, 01:47:55 PM »

Perhaps the most intellectually successful charlatan ever.
Okay, maybe Mike Johnson is a competent parliamentarian.
Nathan
Atlas Superstar

« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2013, 03:34:07 PM »

Bit of a huckster. A talented one, and one who paid his dues intellectually speaking, but even so...
Joe Republic
Atlas Legend
Ukraine

« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2013, 03:38:34 PM »