18th and 19th Century Presidential Eras (user search)
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 18, 2024, 04:58:12 PM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  Presidential Elections - Analysis and Discussion
  Presidential Election Trends (Moderator: 100% pro-life no matter what)
  18th and 19th Century Presidential Eras (search mode)
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: 18th and 19th Century Presidential Eras  (Read 2202 times)
PoliSciFi
United States

« on: March 25, 2013, 09:38:03 AM »

This is my first time posting here.  Frankly, I don't know why I haven't before.  Well, here 'goes.

cope1989 had a very nice post in this forum at index.php?topic=136656.0 about modern eras.  Simply for organizational purposes, I am trying to hammer out Presidential eras from Adams through Obama.  I particularly am interested in organizing them by campaigning styles.

Every aspect of this is open for criticism, most especially: naming the eras, criteria of the eras, which Presidents are encapsulated by the eras, and how many eras there should be.

One other thing, due to the near-complete lack of campaigning by Washington, I have not included his elections.  Let's go, eh?

• The Jeffersonian Era: Adams through Quincy Adams - in this era campaigns were fought in partisan newspapers, the electorate was very narrowly defined, and GOTV comprised of getting supporters drunk. More seriously, we see for the first time campaign techniques and features we still see today: leafleting, distributed "ballots" that told people how to vote, and the first nominating conventions.
  • The Jacksonian Era: Jackson through Fillmore -  in this era, we see the two party system emerging and affecting electoral politics, campaigning for a candidate is encouraged by promises of patronage.