Copyrights Bill [Passed] (user search)
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 17, 2024, 01:10:04 AM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  Atlas Fantasy Elections
  Atlas Fantasy Government (Moderators: Southern Senator North Carolina Yankee, Lumine)
  Copyrights Bill [Passed] (search mode)
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Copyrights Bill [Passed]  (Read 8346 times)
True Federalist (진정한 연방 주의자)
Ernest
Moderators
Atlas Legend
United States

« on: June 22, 2007, 07:44:35 PM »

While I am no proponent of our over-lengthy patent terms, this goes too far in curbing them.  It also means that Atlasia will be abrogating the Berne Convention, as the proposed lengths are far less than the minimums established under that convention.

Berne calls for life +50 as opposed to our current life +70 term.  The advantage to having an international framework for copyright outweighs the desirability for even shorter terms  (personally I'd prefer something in the range of life +25 to 40).

If someone will second my opinion, I shall set out some amendments to this bill that are compliant with the Berne convention.
Ernest
Moderators
Atlas Legend
United States

« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2007, 12:24:44 PM »

The amendment is as follows:

I. Sections 1, 2, and 3 of the bill are struck.

II. A new section 1 is added as follows:
1. It shall be the policy of the Republic of Atlasia that once granted the terms of copyrights should neither be increased or reduced.

III. A new section 2 is added as follows: