2004 if no Iraq war (mini TL)
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 12, 2024, 04:37:48 AM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  Presidential Elections - Analysis and Discussion
  Election What-ifs?
  Past Election What-ifs (US) (Moderator: Dereich)
  2004 if no Iraq war (mini TL)
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: 2004 if no Iraq war (mini TL)  (Read 926 times)
reagan84
Rookie
Show only this user's posts in this thread
« on: November 22, 2010, 09:00:39 PM »

Forgive me for this lame attempt at a TL.  I'm still a rookie and hope to get better in time.
In RL, Bush had a 50% approval rating and support for the war was also about 50/50.  Suppose that Bush makes the decision not to go through with the invasion.
I don't think he loses much support among conservatives, liberals still would hate him but his support among independents remains pretty strong.  He holds an approval rating in the upper 50s on election day and handily wins against any DEM.  He does 3% better across the board, which is enough to flip WI, PA and NH.

Bush 321- Kerry 217

Bush's 2nd term is still tough.  He loses support after Katrina and his push for immigration reform.  By the end of his 2nd term, his approval is down to the mid 40s.  DEMS take the House in '06 and the Senate in '08.

2008 election:
  GOP: Bruising primary with Romney, Huck, Thompson, McCain.  Without the surge, McCain does not win the nomination.  Huck comes out on top but fails to unite the party and chooses T-Paw as his VP
  DEMS: With no Iraq, Hillary wins all the way but Obama still does well in the primaries and is chosen for VP.
  Very polarizing urban/rural divide.  With Bush less unpopular, the GOP is more competitive.  In a close election in which several states are decided by a razor thin 1%  margins, Clinton pulls out a narrow win.