Electoral Thresholds
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 18, 2024, 03:24:44 PM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  General Politics
  Political Debate (Moderator: Torie)
  Electoral Thresholds
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2]
Author Topic: Electoral Thresholds  (Read 3876 times)
angus
Atlas Icon
Show only this user's posts in this thread
« Reply #25 on: September 26, 2013, 10:27:18 AM »

funny low in the case of the Netherlands at 1/150th of the vote

Not at all, it's logical.  And to the poster who said that they are inherently arbitrary, here is an example of one that is not.  The Tweede Kamer of the Staten-Generaal has precisely 150 seats.  (I just looked all this up, so now I'm an expert.)  This is exactly how it should be it if they insist on creating a threshold system.
Filuwaúrdjan
Realpolitik
Atlas Institution
United Kingdom

« Reply #26 on: September 26, 2013, 10:32:49 AM »

There's a delightful little irony in that this democratic problem was in part caused by the electoral collapse of a party that can be seen as representing a different democratic problem: the FDP have almost always been in government despite having never polled more than 15% of the vote.
Lief 🗽
Lief
Atlas Legend

« Reply #27 on: September 26, 2013, 10:45:46 AM »

There's a delightful little irony in that this democratic problem was in part caused by the electoral collapse of a party that can be seen as representing a different democratic problem: the FDP have almost always been in government despite having never polled more than 15% of the vote.

Which just underscores that no matter what you do you're going to have problems of democratic representation. A low threshold does not necessarily lead to more democratic or representative outcomes than a high threshold.
Hatman 🍁
EarlAW
Atlas Star
Canada

WWW Show only this user's posts in this thread