SENATE BILL: Empowering Regions in Federal Elections Amendment (FAILED) (user search)
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 17, 2024, 12:36:29 AM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  Atlas Fantasy Elections
  Atlas Fantasy Government (Moderators: Southern Senator North Carolina Yankee, Lumine)
  SENATE BILL: Empowering Regions in Federal Elections Amendment (FAILED) (search mode)
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: SENATE BILL: Empowering Regions in Federal Elections Amendment (FAILED)  (Read 2742 times)
Marokai Backbeat
Marokai Blue
Atlas Icon
United States

Political Matrix
E: -7.42, S: -7.39

« on: March 09, 2013, 05:36:33 PM »

I'll lobby in favor of this in Napoleon's stead.

This is a modified proposal that Duke and I have been fighting over for a couple years; which was in itself a modified proposal that Xahar, Franzl, and I were fighting for back in 2009. As regions take an increasingly prominent role in the game, regions should have more say in their own representation.

It is bizarre to me, personally, that while we elect half of the Senate specifically within the boundaries of certain regions, ostensibly to represent those regions' interests, these regions have no power over the means of election or administration of the election; while they're free to do as they wish with their own regional offices. Why not extend the same power of administration to their own Senate representatives as well?