HuffPo: UNC Students Topple Confederate Monument (user search)
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 19, 2024, 04:26:15 AM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  General Politics
  U.S. General Discussion (Moderators: The Dowager Mod, Chancellor Tanterterg)
  HuffPo: UNC Students Topple Confederate Monument (search mode)
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: HuffPo: UNC Students Topple Confederate Monument  (Read 10665 times)
Sol
Junior Chimp
Bosnia and Herzegovina

« on: August 21, 2018, 02:05:29 PM »

I'm a current unc student and I was at the site last night--sadly wasn't there for the toppling, but several of my close friends were. Ama.
Sol
Junior Chimp
Bosnia and Herzegovina

« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2018, 04:20:47 PM »

I'm a current unc student and I was at the site last night--sadly wasn't there for the toppling, but several of my close friends were. Ama.

Did they have a good time?

I think so. Frankly this was about as orderly as it possibly could have been--the police didn't really engage with the protestors when it came time to take down the statue. They're probably burnt out tbh; they've had to monitor it pointlessly 24-7 for a very long time.

For those saying that "omg the students should have just gone elsewhere": UNC has a large population of lower-income college students, attracted by its Carolina Covenant Program, which makes it possible for those students to graduate without loans. Many of these covenant students are Black or Hispanic. Not many other schools have comparable programs, and for lots of students UNC is both the most academically strong and affordable option.
Sol
Junior Chimp
Bosnia and Herzegovina

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2018, 06:10:18 PM »

The legislature should rebuild it and post a 24-hour armed guard.  The law is the law.

Of course, the irony is is that the police had been watching it 24-7 for several years...
Sol