The Trinity
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 20, 2024, 07:32:04 AM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  General Discussion
  Religion & Philosophy (Moderator: Okay, maybe Mike Johnson is a competent parliamentarian.)
  The Trinity
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2]
Author Topic: The Trinity  (Read 3928 times)
Swing low, sweet chariot. Comin' for to carry me home.
jmfcst
Atlas Icon
United States

Show only this user's posts in this thread
« Reply #25 on: December 21, 2009, 11:34:22 AM »

Not that I don't know enough to keep the fight going, but I pretty much used up what I have, and would basically just be repeating myself.  He is better with the deep theology in this particular area.

He studied Augustine... I studied Aquinas.

...and I studied the Bible.  Wink
Bono
Atlas Icon
United Kingdom

« Reply #26 on: December 25, 2009, 07:02:42 AM »

When Paul says in 1 Corinthians 15:24,28 t[T]hen comes the end, when He hands over the kingdom to the God and Father, when He has abolished all rule and all authority and power. When all things are subjected to Him, then the Son Himself also will be subjected to the One who subjected all things to Him, so that God may be all in all.

If there is only one person in God, how can Jesus hand over the Kingdom to God the Father? Under your modalism, God the Father was already reigning when Jesus sat as King, so how can Jesus hand Him the Kingdom?

Moreover, in Matthew 26 and parallel passages, in the Garden of Gethsemane, when Jesus was praying to the Father; the only way your modalism can make sense of this dialogue is to have Jesus stage an elaborate charade and God playing peek-a-boo with himself.